Sutter, Lititz Springs

Listen

Stop by the tree between the Bulls Head and Lititz Springs Inn signs. Look across the street to the Bunyaad store, a three story red brick building:

19 E Main St

John Sutter, 1871. Built with indoor plumbing and hot and cold water, a first for Lititz. Later used as a hardware store. Paid for by his son who deeded it to his mother, Annette, as John had been a poor businessman, frequently in debt.

General John Sutter founded Sacramento, CA in 1839.

In April of 1849 there were four lone houses in Sacramento and when gold was found, 6 months later a roaring crazy city of 10,000. The California Gold Rush along the American River was on. Courts and law broke down into vigilantism.

He moved to Lititz in 1871 with three of his grandchildren for their education, to drink the pure water for health (By the turn of the 20th century, municipal chlorination of water to kill microorganisms such as cholera, dysentery and typhoid had begun.), and to petition Congress in Washington for reimbursement for land taken in CA.

Sutter enslaved some Indigenous people. The new state of California legislated the forced slavery of them.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Sutter

On your left

14 E. Main St

Bulls Head public house. An authentic British pub including the menu. Order at the bar.

A little farther on is the Lititz Springs Inn. In 1764 it was a log tavern called the Zum Anker Inn or Sign of the Anchor. It was another church business, with Brother Andrew Horn as innkeeper. In 1848 the old building was replaced by a 3 story brick structure. In 1930 it was remodeled and extended but it closed it’s doors in 1964. In 1967 an oil company optioned the property for a gas station in the center of town. Citizen petitions discouraged the purchase. A group of local businessmen later purchased it.

In the early 1950’s $2.25 got you a steak with vegetables. For desert, coffee and a slice of their signature strawberry meringue pie.

Continue to the crosswalk on Broad Street.